Gathering of the Figments Forum Index Gathering of the Figments
now located at: www.figmentgathering.org!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Beware of scams!

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gathering of the Figments Forum Index -> Important!!!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Figment
Almighty Ruler


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 2848
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 10:06 am    Post subject: Beware of scams! Reply with quote

Ok, so i know that i personally was looking at sending my book off to WL Writer's Agency when it is read... And i know that Pommie was also looking at them... Their deal sounds good and you apparently don't have to pay anything and they just take 10% of royalties...

I have since learned that the company is run by a convicted conman, and that it is a new name for a company scam that he has run under at least 7 other names...

* Children's Literary Agency
* Christian Literary Agency
* New York Literary Agency
* Poets [sic] Literary Agency
* The Screenplay Agency
* Stylus Literary Agency (formerly ST Literary Agency, formerly Sydra-Techniques)
* The Writers [sic] Literary & Publishing Services Company

Apparently they DO charge you and make you sign over rights to your books for ridiculous amounts of time... And they get you a "publishing deal" with companies that publish your books and send you cheques totaling $5 when you KNOW that you have had more copies bought than that, because you placed the orders yourself...

Steer clear of Publish America!

Ok... Well if you hear bad things about other companies, feel free to and please do alert us to them! And keep an eye out for any scams before sending ANYTHING off to "publishers" or "agents!"
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
pommie42
Dragon’s emissary


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 1704
Location: Flying free, free before the thunderstorm

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shocked Whoa.

I shall not be shortlisting them then...

Thanks for letting us know... and how did you find out about this can I ask?
_________________
It does not do to leave a live dragon out of your calculations, if you live near him.

Temeraire Forums
The Dragon's Lair!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
butterflii
Story Teller


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 1612
Location: (rock) ME (hard place)

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I havn't really thought far ahead enough to look for publishers, but thanks for the heads up.

What sickos are happy to make a living scamming kids?
_________________
Spider, Spider, on the wall.
Have you got no sense at all?
Can't you see the walls been plastered.
Now you're stuck you stupid . . . spider.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Figment
Almighty Ruler


Joined: 04 Jul 2005
Posts: 2848
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found out about it through the Sydney sector of Nano, where someone warned us about PublishAmerica, and the person posted a link to Absolutewrite.com, and through the forums there i found out more about WL Writer's Agency...
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
ShadowFang
Typewriter


Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 408
Location: The World That Never Was/Amestris? Dunno if you can be in two worlds at once...

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Woah, that's awful....Now I'm angry again. How could someone do that?

*sigh*
_________________
I....I got a MySpace......OMG!

http://www.myspace.com/shadowfang2011

It's a miracle! lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RugbyWriter
Figment of a Figment


Joined: 07 Oct 2007
Posts: 28
Location: Plymouth

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've recently thought about checking through some publishers and stuff to maybbeeee get my work looked through. So thanks, I'll stay clear of these guys ^.

But how do you know if a company is a scam or not? I imagine that fake companies, that claim to be fair publishes with great deals, appear totally genuine. . .

Of course, I'd have to be thoroughly convinced before sending anything off, but is there anyway to check if a company is sincere?
_________________

Football is a Gentlemen's Game Played by Hooligans.
Rugby . . . that's a Hooligans Hame Played by Gentlemen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
DarkWaltz
Rince Draíocht


Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 823
Location: Somewhere between this world and another...

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think your best bet would probably be to just pick a publisher you know well (through reading their publications) or at least have seen in bookstores and know is real to try to get published. That way you avoid the scams.
_________________



~DancingEponaTinuviel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shaye
Superior Figment


Joined: 01 Mar 2007
Posts: 2785
Location: 3rd rock from the sun.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a sick, sick world.
_________________
~Shaye

Look. I don't understand half the things I say either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address MSN Messenger
pommie42
Dragon’s emissary


Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 1704
Location: Flying free, free before the thunderstorm

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DarkWaltz wrote:
I think your best bet would probably be to just pick a publisher you know well (through reading their publications) or at least have seen in bookstores and know is real to try to get published. That way you avoid the scams.


That would be a good idea. Another way is to speak to the authors, whether by email or face to face, and ask them who can be trusted, and who they know cannot be trusted.

And if there is someone you think is being a bit shady in their dealings, then go no further in proceedings and investigate them thoroughly.

As Mad Eye Moody says in Harry Potter:

CONSTANT VIGILANCE!!!
_________________
It does not do to leave a live dragon out of your calculations, if you live near him.

Temeraire Forums
The Dragon's Lair!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
DarkWaltz
Rince Draíocht


Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 823
Location: Somewhere between this world and another...

PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*loves Pommies* Yeah Moody!!!
_________________



~DancingEponaTinuviel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hawkins
Superior Figment


Joined: 23 Mar 2007
Posts: 3887
Location: I live in a '66 VW on Kirby Pond so...Vermont.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm good friends with some authors; lemme go ask them what companies they've published with, you know...I'm sure that those aren't scams, seeing as they're not broke. *rofl*
_________________

Tyler's on vacation...to CANADA...*sad*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gathering of the Figments Forum Index -> Important!!! All times are GMT - 10 Hours
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group
Web Hosting Directory
Chronicles phpBB2 theme by Jakob Persson (http://www.eddingschronicles.com). Stone textures by Patty Herford.


For Support - http://forums.BizHat.com

Free Web Hosting | Free Forum Hosting | FlashWebHost.com | Image Hosting | Photo Gallery | FreeMarriage.com

Powered by PhpBBweb.com, setup your forum now!